Home Page

Meet the Governing Body

Chair of Governors Welcome


I would like to welcome you and your family to our school.  Knowl Hill C of E Academy is a unique and special place where we nurture children from their first experience of education on their journey to become lifelong learners.


Every child is different and we work in partnership with parents to develop each individual to reach their full potential.


As the Chair of Governors I have been involved with Knowl Hill for a number of years and have watched it grow and develop into the wonderful school that it is today.  With our rapidly changing environment I am confident that we can play our part in preparing our children for their future to be responsible, creative, well educated adults with a strong Christian ethos.


Cynthia Pitteway

Chair of Governors

Governor Comments

I really enjoyed the Christingle service by year 2 pupils. The rehearsing and hard work paid off. Well done to everyone who was involved. Mantej Brar


I enjoyed helping to serve the Christmas lunch and also the Christmas play written by Richard Best which was excellent. Sandra Baker


I attended the Christingle service and was so impressed with the smooth presentation by the children. How on earth their teachers taught them to manipulate the letters to show different words with such accuracy, I do not know! Helen MacDonald


Lovely lunchtime with incredibly well behaved Knowl Hill Foundation and KS1 classes enjoying Christmas lunch in the hall. Helen MacDonald

Meet the Governors

Meet the Governors 1 Mrs Cynthia Pitteway - Chair of Governors
Meet the Governors 2 Mrs Helen MacDonald - Vice-Chair of Governors
Meet the Governors 3 Mrs Carolyn Deans - Governor
Meet the Governors 4 Mrs Sandra Baker - Foundation Governor
Meet the Governors 5 Mrs Jodi O'Connor - Parent Governor
Meet the Governors 6 Mrs Ann Griffin - Foundation Governor

Our Governing Body

  • Cynthia Pitteway - Chair of Governors and Director of Ashley Hill Multi Academy Trust
  • Helen MacDonald - Vice-Chair of Governors and Chair of Directors of Ashley Hill Multi Academy Trust
  • Carolyn Deans - Governor
  • Ann Griffin - Foundation Governor
  • Sandra Baker - Foundation Governor
  • Jodi O'Connor - Parent Governor
  • Isabel Cooke - Staff Governor
  • Nichole Bourner - Staff Governor
  • Mantej Brar - Parent Governor


Governor Roles

  • Link Governor - Helen MacDonald
  • SEN Governor - Carolyn Deans
  • Child Protection Officer - Safeguarding - Ann Griffin
  • Health and Safety - Safeguarding - Sandra Baker


Supporting Staff

  • Carolyn Thompson - Business Manager, Ashley Hill Multi Academy Trust
  • Kirsty Freebody - Clerk to the Governors, Ashley Hill Multi Academy Trust
  • Chris Hodgson - Finance Officer, Ashley Hill Multi Academy Trust


Committee Structure

We have three Committee's of Governors who meet on an ad-hoc basis when needed as follows:-


Admissions Committee                 Appeals Committee                Staffing Committee

Ann Griffin                                            Helen MacDonald                            Cynthia Pitteway

Carolyn Deans                                        Carolyn Deans                                 Helen MacDonald           

Sandra Baker                                         Ann Griffin                                    Sandra Baker

                                                              Sandra Baker                                 Ann Griffin

                                                                                                                    Carolyn Deans


Governor Date of Appointment and Term of Office

All Governors were re-elected at the commencement of the Ashley Hill Multi Academy Trust for a four year term of office (September 2014 to August 2018).

How to contact our Governing Body

If you would like to contact the Governing Body, please address your letter to the Chair of Governors, c/o Knowl Hill CE Academy, Bath Road, Knowl Hill, Reading, Berkshire, RG10 9UX.

Governors Attendance Register

Please find below the Governors Attendance Register for 2016-2017. The key is as follows:-

  • P - Present
  • A - Absent
  • A - Absence not sanctioned by the Governing Body
  • N/A - Not required at the meeting
  • MAT - Maternity Leave



Name of Governor 22.09.16 15.11.16 30.01.17 02.05.17 11.07.17
Cynthia Pitteway P P P P P
Helen MacDonald P P P P P
Ann Griffin P P A P A
Carolyn Deans P P P P P
Sandra Baker A P P P P
Robert Marsh P A      
Jodi O'Connor P A A P A
Isabel Cooke P P P P P
Nichole Bourner P P P P P
Carolyn Thompson N/A P P P P
Kirsty Freebody P P P P P
Chris Hodgson N/A P A P P


Governors Business Interests

Relationships between Governors and members of the school